The English Folk Dance and Song Society websites use cookies.
You can read more about cookies and how we use them here.
Continued use of this site implies that you agree to our use of cookies.  
At the heart of English folk
SocialSharers

Become a Cecil Sharp House Social Sharer

We are looking for two enthusiastic digitally competent social media lovers – Social Sharers – to tweet and blog about their gig-going experiences at Cecil Sharp House throughout the season. We’re running a competition for imaginative and creative social media enthusiasts to win tickets to a selection of gigs promoted by the English Folk Dance and Song Society (EFDSS), presented in association with Songlines magazine.

 

What would being a Cecil Sharp House Social Sharer consist of?

You’ll get:

  • tickets to EFDSS promoted gigs* for two people (we ask that you come to at least four of the available gigs, but are happy for you to come to all!)
  • the chance to interview and engage with some of the performing artists and EFDSS staff
  • tea or Illy Coffee served with a slice of homemade cake from our new, in-house catering partner Pink at every event as well an evening meal from the new menu served in the refurbished cafe. 
  •  two issues of Songlines magazine


*Available gigs

David Gibb & Elly Lucas, Thursday 16 January, 7.30pm
Josienne Clark & Ben Walker,
Saturday 25 January, 7.30pm
Maz O’Connor with special guests,
Thursday 30 January, 7.30pm
Steve Knightley: Grow Your Own Gig tour, Thursday 6 February, 7.30pm
Luke Jackson,
Wednesday 12 February, 7.30pm
Folk Rising,
Thursday 13 February, 7.30pm
Access All Alreas!
Saturday 15 February, 2.30pm
Martyn Joseph,
Thursday 20 February, 7.30pm
The Young’uns,
Wednesday 5 March, 7.30pm
Emily Smith,
Thursday 13 March, 7.30pm
Folk Rising,
Thursday 20 March, 7.30pm
The Elizabethan Session, Saturday 22 March, 7.30pm
Zesty Playford Ball,
Saturday 29 March, 7.30pm
Lucy Ward, Wednesday 9 April, 7.30pm
Folk Rising,
Thursday 10 April, 7.30pm
Kate Rusby, Saturday 26 April, 7.30pm
Patsy Reid Band,
Wednesday 30 April, 7.30pm

 

Who is this for?

This competition is aimed at people of any age who are enthusiastic about folk music, or would like to learn more about the genre. We welcome entries from people who have already visited Cecil Sharp House, as well as those who have never been but would like to come and see the venue in action.

Take a look at the work of one of our Autumn Season social Sharer's - Zarina Holmes.

Meet The Story Tellers

Interested?

Send your completed entry form to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Deadline: noon on 23 December 2013

Downloads
Entry form (PDF)
Entry form (word doc)

 

National Youth Folk Ensemble

National Youth Folk Ensemble

 

Donate now

There's never been a better time to donate to EFDSS - between now and 2019 your donation will be matched by Arts Council England!