The English Folk Dance and Song Society websites use cookies.
You can read more about cookies and how we use them here.
Continued use of this site implies that you agree to our use of cookies.  
At the heart of English folk

Gold Badges celebrate excellence in English folk

The English Folk Dance and Song Society has announced four recipients of its highest award, the Gold Badge.

Gold Badges are presented for unique or outstanding contributions to folk music, dance or song and/or exceptional contributions to the work of the English Folk Dance and Song Society.

Gold Badges for 2019 will be awarded to:                                             

Chris Coe, traditional singer/instrumentalist

John Graham, who took over accordion duties at Headington Quarry Morris Dancers from
William Kimber himself

Kate Rusby, singer-songwriter

Mike Norris, former Chair of EFDSS and presenter of its weekly Classic Folk radio show

They join an illustrious list of Gold Badge holders including pioneering folk-song collector and EFDSS founder Cecil Sharp (1923), composer/collector Ralph Vaughan Williams (1943), performer/writer AL Lloyd (1975), Ewan MacCoIl (1987), Peggy Seeger (1987), EFDSS President Shirley Collins (2003) and EFDSS Vice President Eliza Carthy (2007).

Katy Spicer, Chief Executive and Artistic Director of the English Folk Dance and Song Society, said:

This year’s recipients truly demonstrate the breadth, depth and vibrancy of our English folk arts. These four individuals have each made significant contributions to our folk culture while entertaining, inspiring, supporting and informing countless people. We are delighted to recognise them with these prestigious awards.

More information about Gold Badges 


National Youth Folk Ensemble

National Youth Folk Ensemble


Donate now

There's never been a better time to support English Folk